Stabbing Backs And Blowing Gabriel

This past week has been very eventful for Zack and me. On Tuesday I got my first tattoo and Zack had his graduate school showcase performance. Both of which brought us closer to becoming the well-rounded adults we’re destined to be. 

Zack had been preparing for this showcase for the past couple weeks and was really excited to show me and everyone his amazing progress as a performer and singer. And yes, you can be one without being the other. Hello Rihanna. For those of you that don’t know, Zack is a few short weeks away from obtaining his Master’s Degree in musical theatre vocal performance from NYU, and he received his undergraduate degree in classical voice (opera) from UCLA. He’s got a lot going on, and this performance was the culmination of years of training and hard work. For the showcase he performed Blow Gabriel Blow from Anything Goes. The song is traditional sang by a woman, but it should come as no surprise that that wasn’t a deterrent for Zack, since he more than comfortable with his feminine side. He was accompanied onstage by all of his female classmates and literally stole the show. Seeing Zack so put together and on point was a real breathe of fresh air after having heard him wail that fucking song every waking minute at home. I told him on countless occasions that if he continued deafening me with the song, I would not attend his showcase. He knew this was an empty threat and belted on. I attended the show with our friend, and he agreed that Zack was a star. Just don’t tell him that, since I can’t emotionally support a diva lifestyle.

Earlier that day, I got a tattoo of a lion’s head on my right shoulder blade. After a lot of contemplation, Zack and I both made the decision to get tattoos. Neither of us saw ourselves as tattoo people growing up, but accepted this change of heart as a sign of growing up. Since Zack has a lot going on, he’s opted to get his tattoo (tentatively a nautilus shell) after graduation. The day of my stabbing, I had a lot of doubts but could not be happier with the outcome. For me the lion represents fearlessness and strength. I wasn’t looking for a tattoo that necessarily meant something, as much as I was looking for something that looked cool. However this image of a lion spoke to me, and I knew I’d made the right decision. 

On my way to the theatre after getting the tattoo, a crazy man came very close to pummeling me after I “invaded his personal space” on the subway. In reality I just grabbed the pole next to his seat, and he was having none of it. When I accidentally dropped my phone on his shoulder, he went ballistic. After pacing the car manically, he revealed an ankle monitor denoting some sort of probation. Though initially I thought it was a shank. I attribute my level head to the strength of the lion head, and to the fact that the fucker was a foot shorter than me. 

After Zack’s show we drank with his classmates and celebrated. It was a special day for us both for our own reasons. I’m very proud of Zack and all his hard work, which has already landed him a meeting with an agent. And I am proud of myself for paying a man named Diego to stab in the back for three hours. Thanks Diego 🙂 Until next time…

Harper

 

My new ink ❤ 

One thought on “Stabbing Backs And Blowing Gabriel

  1. NICE INK! I hear they are addicting. All my siblings have tatoos. I can’t commit to anything being emblazoned on my body for life. Great to know that despite the day to day bickering, you two have each other’s back and support in the end.

Leave a comment